Betsy Fretwell(5) - Getzen 2014

The Getzen Lecture on Government Accountability, an annual lecture series presented by the Department of Public Administration and Policy is made possible by UGA alumni Katherine Getzen Willoughby (PhD ‘91) and Dan Hall Willoughby, Jr. (JD ‘86) in honor of her parents, Evangeline Sferes Getzen and Forrest William Getzen, lifelong advocates of public service and education.

The content and opinions expressed during events hosted by the School of Public & International events do not necessarily reflect the views of nor are they endorsed by the University of Georgia or the University System of Georgia.

2024 Getzen Lecture - March 19, 2024

2024 Getzen Lecture on Government Accountability

presented by

Christopher A. Wray
Director, Federal Bureau of Investigation

Christopher Wray became the eighth Director of the Federal Bureau of Investigation on August 2, 2017. Prior to his appointment, Wray held several roles in the Department of Justice, including serving as an assistant U.S. attorney for the Northern District of Georgia, as principal associate deputy attorney general, and as assistant attorney general for DOJ’s Criminal Division, which included counterterrorism investigations at the time. He also spent many years in private practice focusing on government investigations and white-collar crime. He is the recipient of the Edmund J. Randolph Award, the Department of Justice’s highest award for leadership and public service.


Tuesday, March 19, 2024
1:30-2:30 pm

A reception will immediately follow in the Founders Memorial Garden. 


UGA Chapel
109 Herty Drive
Athens, GA 30602
View Map »


The event is free and open to the public, but registration is required.


Pay-by-the hour parking is available in the North Campus Parking Deck located on S. Jackson Street or in the Washington Street parking deck in downtown Athens.


Requests for accommodations for those with disabilities should be made as soon as possible but at least 7 days prior to the lecture.


Lauren Ledbetter at [email protected] or 706-975-8443


2006: David M. Walker, Former Director, Government Accountability Office | Watch recording of lecture »
2007: Alice M. Rivlin, Former Director, Office of Management and Budget | Watch recording of lecture »
2008: Lee H. Hamilton, Former U.S. Congressman / Co-chair, Iraq Study Group / Former vice chair, 9/11 Commission | Watch recording of lecture »
2009: Newt Gingrich, Former Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives | Watch recording of lecture »
2010: Johnny Isakson, U.S. Senator | Watch recording of lecture »
2011: Thad W. Allen, Retired Admiral, U.S. Coast Guard / Chief Federal Officer, Deepwater Horizon oil spill | Watch recording of lecture »
2012: Cynthia Tucker, Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist
2013: Henry J. Aaron, Health care expert and economist, The Brookings Institution
2014: Betsy Fretwell, City Manager, Las Vegas |  Watch recording of lecture »
2016: James Clifford “Jim” Miller III, Former Director, Office of Management and Budget
2017: Charles H. Ramsey, Former Commissioner, Philadelphia Police Department / Former Co-Chair, President Obama’s Task Force on 21st Century Policing |  Watch recording of lecture »
2018: Walter M. Shaub, former director of the United States Office of Government Ethics | Watch recording of lecture »
2019: Gene L. Dodaro, Comptroller General of the United States | Watch recording of lecture » 
2020: Shelley Metzenbaum, Founding President of the Volcker Alliance | Watch recording of lecture »
2021: Mark Lee Greenblatt, Inspector General, U.S. Department of the Interior | Watch recording of lecture »
2022: Tristan L. Leavitt, Member, Merit Systems Protection Board  |  View Event Photos » |  Watch Lecture Recording »