Photo by Jason Dixson Photography.














The mission of the SPIA Alumni Board of Directors is to serve students and graduates of SPIA through its support of the School’s programs and activities in order to cultivate and encourage a continuing affiliation between and among graduates and the School.

The Board serves in a variety of ways, working on committees to host annual fundraising events like the Georgia Legislative Outlook, Federal Policy Outlook Series and Alumni Speaker Series which raise money for undergraduate study abroad scholarships, MPA student support, and additional funding priorities set annually by the dean. Alumni Board members are committed to participating in the UGA Mentor Program and some also serve on a mentoring committee to further connect alumni to students. Check back for the application timeline for 2023-2026 term members!

2022 SPIA Alumni Board of Directors Bylaws

To learn more about this organization or to get involved, contact 2022-23 Board Chair Wells Ellenberg.

Below are the members of the 2022-2023 SPIA Alumni Board of Directors:

Kevin Abernethy (AB ’99)
Vice President for Government Relations
University of Georgia

Francesca Amodeo (AB ’13)
Press Secretary
U.S. Senator Chris Van Hollen

Shallum Atkinson (AB ’17, ABJ ’17)
Senior Policy Advisor
Congressman Sean Patrick Maloney

Alex Baker (AB ’07)
Location Investment Services at EY

Betsy Bradfield (AB ’17)
Political Affairs Manager
Georgia Association of REALTORS

Leanna Brown (AB ’10, MIP ’12)
Vice President, Business Climate and Talent Development
Metro Atlanta Chamber

Clayton Cox (AB ’10)
Vice President of Federal Affairs
McGuireWoods Consulting

David Dove (AB ’09, JD’ 14), Vice-Chair
Executive Counsel
Office of Governor Brian P. Kemp

Jaren Dunning (MPA ’13, JD ’13)
Senior Counsel
Global Human Rights & Employment Law, PepsiCo, Inc.

Wells Ellenberg (AB ‘13), 2022-23 Chair
Director of Governmental Affairs
Southern Company

Houston Gaines (AB ’17)
Affairs Client Advisor
Cannon Financial Institute

Vivian Greentree (ABJ ’00, AB ’01)
Senior Vice President
Head of Global Corporate Citizenship, Fiserv

Scott Haggard (ABJ ’94, AB ’95)
Director of Government & External Affairs
ATL Transit Authority/State Road and Tollway Authority

Caulder Harvill-Childs (AB ’12)
Public Policy Manager

Rebecca Howell (AB ’13)
Senior Director
America Rising

Josh Kivett (AB ’95)
Senior National Strategist
Majority Strategies

Jordan Layson (AB ’09), DC Liaison
Director, U.S. Government Affairs

Larissa Martinez (AB ’04, AB ’04)
Women’s Public Leadership Network

Taylor Murray (AB ’17)
Manager-Locations and Incentives Analysis
Maxis Advisors, A Foundry Commercial Company

Ronnie Kurtz (AB ’15, MPA ’15)
Director of Planning and Community Development
City of Grovetown, Georgia

Hadas Peles (AB ’09)
Jamestown, LP

Tyler Reinagel (MPA ’09, PhD ’09)
Associate Vice President for Economic Development
Kennesaw State University

Miller Robinson (AB ’16)
Mercer University School of Law

Wes Robinson (AB ’12), Secretary/Treasurer
Senior Director, State Affairs
American Chemistry Council

Jessica Simmons (AB ’10)
Deputy CIO for Broadband and Special Projects
Georgia Technology Authority

Michael “Sully” Sullivan (AB ’97)
President & CEO
ACEC Georgia

Casey Tanner (MPA ’19)
Vice President for Government Relations
Kennesaw State University

Grant Thomas (AB ’15, MBA ’20), Past Chair (2021-22)
Director of Health Strategy and Coordination
Office of Governor Brian P. Kemp

Meg Turlington (AB ’09)
Associate County Attorney
Montgomery County, MD

Rob Underwood (AB ’06)
Energy Marketers of America

Sean Walker (MPA ’18)
Senior Director, Development
Semper Fi and America’s Fund