The Department of Political Science invites you to

The 2021 George S. Parthemos Lecture

featuring Dr. Frank R. Baumgartner

Richard J. Richardson Distinguished Professorship in Political Science at the University of North Carolina Chapel Hill

April 5, 2021

3:30pm (EST) via Zoom Webinar

Frank R. Baumgartner received his PhD from the University of Michigan and currently holds the Richard J. Richardson Distinguished Professorship in Political Science at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Much of his work focuses on how public policies are made in democracies, with particular attention to lobbying, issue-definition, framing, and agenda-setting including the role of the media and elections. He was co-creator of the Comparative Agendas Project, which tracks public policy activities over long periods of time. Over 20 national project teams are now active in this growing network, with hundreds of publications having resulted from the work.

More recently, he has developed a sustained research program on issues of racial disparity in the criminal justice system, having published two award-winning books on the death penalty and one on police traffic stops.

Over the course of his career, Professor Baumgartner has published articles in the most prestigious political science journals. He has also published 10 books and edited others. His book include: Agendas and Instability in American Politics (Chicago); The Politics of Attention (Chicago), and The Politics of Information (Chicago); Lobbying and Policy Change (Chicago); The Decline of the Death Penalty and the Discovery of Innocence (Cambridge); Deadly Justice: A Statistical Portrait of the Death Penalty (Oxford, co-authored with four UNC undergraduates); Suspect Citizens: What 20 Million Traffic Stops Tell Us about Policing and Race (Cambridge, co-authored with two UNC graduate students); and the edited volume Comparative Policy Agendas: Theory, Data, Tools (Oxford), representing the current state of the Comparative Policy Agendas project.

In addition to its tremendous breadth, Baumgartner’s work is recognized for its data driven clarity. His work has won prestigious awards, including the Aaron Wildavsky Award for an enduring contribution to the field of public policy (for Agendas and Instability); the Gladys M. Kammerer Award for the best book on US national policy (for The Decline of the Death Penalty); the Leon D. Epstein Outstanding Book Award on political organizations and parties (Lobbying and Policy Change); the Louis Brownlow Award for the best book in the field of public administration (for The Politics of Information); and the C. Herman Pritchett Best Book Award from the Law and Courts Section of the American Political Science Association (for Suspect Citizens). In 2011, Baumgartner received the Samuel J. Eldersveld Award for Career Achievement from the APSA section on political organizations and parties. In 2017, he was inducted as a Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. In 2019, Professor Baumgartner (along with his collaborators) were recognized with the Lijphart / Przeworski / Verba Dataset Award from the APSA Section on Comparative Politics for the Comparative Agendas Project.

This lecture series hosted annually is named after George S. Parthemos who served the University of Georgia with great distinction for over 30 years until his death in 1984. During his service at the University, Parthemos served as Head of the Department of Political Science and Vice President for Instruction. He was also an extraordinary teacher. This series, sponsored by the Department of Political Science, honors Dr. Parthemos’ commitment to education. Each year, the Parthemos Scholar not only delivers a public lecture, but also teaches classes and interacts with students and faculty over two to three days.

Past Parthemos Lectures

1987: Richard E. Fenno
1988: Warren E. Miller
1989: Earl and Merle Black
1990: Samuel Patterson
1991: William Galston
1992: Larry J. Sabato
1993: Kenneth J. Meier
1995: Thomas E. Patterson
1996: Leslie Friedman Goldstein
1997: Catherine E. Rudder
1998: Richard A. Brody
1999: Barbara Sinclair
2000: Ian Shapiro
2001: Kenneth A. Shepsle
2002: John H. Aldrich
2003: Russell Hardin
2004: Adam Przeworski
2005: Martha Nussbaum
2006: Frederick C. Harris
2007: Jürg Steiner and John Roemer
2008: John Zaller
2009: Larry Bartels
2010: Elinor Ostrom
2011: Gary King
2012: Arthur Lupia
2013: Gary Cox
2014: Quentin Skinner
2015: David Mayhew
2016: Morris P. Fiorina
2017: Lee Epstein
2018: Janet M. Box-Steffensmeier
2019: Charles Stewart III
2020: Vincent L. Hutchings