Four International Affairs faculty members were recently announced as recipients of research grants, awards, and fellowships.  Dr. Lihi Ben Shitrit was named the recipient of a 2015 Sarah H. Moss Fellowship.  Administered by the Center for Teaching and Learning and funded by Mrs. Moss’ estate, this fellowship provides funds for research and travel at institutions of higher education in the U.S. and abroad.  Dr. Ben Shitrit will be continuing her research on the Middle East this summer.

Dr. Andy Owsiak is part of a research team that was awarded a Minerva Research Initiative grant.  Sponsored by the Department of Defense, the initiative “seeks to build deeper understanding of the social, cultural, and political dynamics that shape regions of strategic interest around the world.”  The results of the resulting research will better able policy makers address global issues today and in the future.

Dr. Cas Mudde has received the very prestigious Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award, named after a German Mathematician and Astronomer and is bestowed on the basis of “outstanding accomplishments in research and teaching”. Awardees come from all areas of the social sciences, the humanities, and the natural sciences and are nominated by German scholars.  Dr. Mudde will spend the next three summers conducting research in Berlin with German scholars.

Dr. Shane Singh was named the recipient of the 2015 SPIA Research Award.  Presented by the school, this competitive award recognizes excellence in research amongst the SPIA faculty and is only given to a single recipient annually.

Congratulations to all of our award-winning faculty!