Betsy Fretwell(5) - Getzen 2014

The Getzen Lecture on Government Accountability, an annual lecture series presented by the Department of Public Administration and Policy is made possible by UGA alumni Katherine Getzen Willoughby (PhD ‘91) and Dan Hall Willoughby, Jr. (JD ‘86) in honor of her parents, Evangeline Sferes Getzen and Forrest William Getzen, lifelong advocates of public service and education.


2020 Getzen Lecture on Government Accountability

presented by Shelley Metzenbaum

“Accountability: What Does It Mean, Constructively Managing It, and Avoiding the Blame and Claim Game”

Wednesday, March 4, 2020 • 1:30-2:30 pm
Special Collections Library Auditorium

A reception will immediately follow from 2:30-3:30pm

Shelley Metzenbaum currently works on projects to bring about a better world through better government, working both inside and outside government.  She has worked for federal, state, and local governments, including the Environmental Protection Agency, Arkansas, Massachusetts, and Boston. Her most recent government work was as Associate Director for Performance and Personnel Management in the U.S. Office of Management and Budget, after which she served as Founding President of the Volcker Alliance. Dr. Metzenbaum holds a Ph.D. in Public Policy from the Harvard Kennedy School.

This event is free and open to the public. 


2006: David M. Walker, Former Director, Government Accountability Office
2007: Alice M. Rivlin, Former Director, Office of Management and Budget
2008: Lee H. Hamilton, Former U.S. Congressman / Co-chair, Iraq Study Group / Former vice chair, 9/11 Commission
2009: Newt Gingrich, Former Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives
2010: Johnny Isakson, U.S. Senator
2011: Thad W. Allen, Retired Admiral, U.S. Coast Guard / Chief Federal Officer, Deepwater Horizon oil spill
2012: Cynthia Tucker, Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist
2013: Henry J. Aaron, Health care expert and economist, The Brookings Institution
2014: Betsy Fretwell, City Manager, Las Vegas |  Watch recording of lecture »
2016: James Clifford “Jim” Miller III, Former Director, Office of Management and Budget
2017: Charles H. Ramsey, Former Commissioner, Philadelphia Police Department / Former Co-Chair, President Obama’s Task Force on 21st Century Policing |  Watch recording of lecture »
2018: Walter M. Shaub, former director of the United States Office of Government Ethics | Watch recording of lecture »
2019: Gene L. Dodaro, Comptroller General of the United States | Watch recording of lecture » 
2020: Shelley Metzenbaum, Founding President of the Volcker Alliance | Watch recording of lecture »