Photo (Left): SPIA Board of Visitor Member Jack Halper (MPA '77) spent 11 years as a Special Agent of the FBI and is a US Army veteran having served in Vietnam where he was awarded the Purple Heart and Bronze Star commendations. He has been a registered investment professional for over 28 years and is First Vice-President of Morgan Stanley in Athens, GA.

Board of Visitors

The Board of Visitors is an independent, self-governing body of advisors to the School of Public and International Affairs.

Acting individually and collectively, its members promote the best interests of the school, sharing high-level counsel and expertise with the Dean and with one another in a spirit of mutual respect, collaboration, and consultation. In its work, the Board takes into account the interests of students, faculty, staff, administrators, and alumni. It is focused on a strategic level, advocating for the school within the University community and the public sphere.

Board of Visitors members are alumni, parents, or friends of the School with a history of significant engagement. By joining the Board, they commit to supporting the school and to staying informed, just as the school commits to helping them stay informed. They agree to provide perspective in advising the Dean on how to identify and address both immediate challenges as they arise and long-term opportunities.  They serve as ambassadors furthering the objectives of the Board of Visitors on behalf of the School of Public and International Affairs.

Ms. M. Elaine Bunn (AB ‘74)
Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for Nuclear and Missile Defense Policy
Office of the Secretary of Defense
United States Department of Defense
Washington, D.C.

The Honorable Valerie Caproni (JD ‘79)
Federal Judge, U.S. District Court, Southern District of New York
New York, NY

Mr. Lee Culpepper (AB ‘84)
Vice-President of Corporate Affairs, Wal-Mart Inc.
Bentonville, AR

The Honorable Wyche Fowler, Jr.
Former U.S. Senator, Georgia
Former U.S. Ambassador to Saudi Arabia
Washington, D.C.

General (RET) Eugene E. Habiger (BS ‘63)
Distinguished Fellow and Policy Advisor,
Center for International Trade & Security
Former Commander in Chief, U.S. Strategic Command
San Antonio, TX

Mr. John Frank Halper (MPA ‘77)
First Vice President-Investments,
Morgan Stanley
Athens, GA

Ms. Eleni Pryles Kalisch (ABJ ‘83)
Vice-President, Federal Relations
Royal Caribbean Cruises, Ltd.
Miami, FL

Mr. Terry A. Mathews (AB ‘82)
Founder, Mathews & Maxwell
Atlanta, GA

Ms. Harriet J. Melvin (ABJ  ’86)
President, The Capitol Group
Washington, D.C.

The Honorable Powell A. Moore (ABJ ‘59)
Former Assistant Secretary of Defense, U.S. Department of Defense
Washington, D.C.

Mr. C. Randall Nuckolls (BSA ‘74, JD ‘77)
Partner, McKenna Long & Aldridge, LLP
Washington, D.C.

Mr. Cecil M. Phillips
President, Place Properties
Atlanta, GA

Major General Arnold L. Punaro (MA ‘76)
CEO, The Punaro Group
McLean, VA

Dr. Ralph E. Reed, Jr. (AB ‘85)
President, Century Strategies
Duluth, GA

Ms. Julie C. Smith (AB ’00)
State Government Affairs & External Affairs, Verizon
Alpharetta, GA

Mr. L Henry Turner III (AB ’79)
Vice President, State Government Affairs,
Altria Corporate Services, Inc.
Washington, D.C.

Mr. Joe D. Whitley (AB ’72, JD ’75)
Shareholder, Greenberg Traurig LLC
Former General Counsel to the U.S. Department of
Homeland Security
Washington, D.C.

Keep in touch

The School of Public and International Affairs has a vibrant page on Facebook under the group name UGA School of Public and International Affairs. We hope you will "like" the page and visit frequently! You will find it to be a great place to network with students, fellow alumni and former professors, as well as stay connected to the School of Public and International Affairs.

Like Us

By The Numbers


Since 1851, 25 governors of Georgia have been graduates of the University of Georgia, including the former governor, Sonny Perdue. Perdue is the fifth consecutive state chief executive, and the seventh of the last nine governors, to hold a UGA degree. Both of Georgia’s U.S. senators, Saxby Chambliss and Johnny Isakson, are graduates as are U.S. Reps.  John Barrow, Paul Broun, Jr., Tom Graves, John (Jack) Kingston, Austin Scott, and Rob Woodall.